Our LCHF journey begins…

So we have decided that an intervention of serious significance is essential to our future longevity. In short, we have to lose weight, get fit and be healthy, active adults from now on.

In part, this is because we recently became parents to precious 1 year old twins after 12 years of trying to conceive making us older parents, 40 and 53, meaning we are going to be really old when the twins are teens! So we need to make sure we are young oldies, fit and active and ready to have loads of adventures with our kids. My DH (dear husband) will be 63 when the twins are 10 and 69 when they are 16 – so he wants to make sure he is as lean and fit as possible to keep up with them.

DH has high blood pressure and is on chronic meds for that.  We are both overweight – DH by about 25kg and me by about 29kg! We both have water retention issues and inflammation. We are both inactive at the moment (I have had gym workout programmes in the past but DH is not very active) I have regular headaches, which may be hormonal.  I have had a mirena for about 6 months not for contraception but to counter intense and extremely painful periods.  I am sure this is contributing to my mood swings, weight gain and headaches, however the relief from the monthly pain is almost worth it.

After reviewing previous weight loss eating plans which have been successful for me in the past ( have previously lost 27kg but regained it, then lost 17kg but regained it again as soon as I fell off the wagon), I have come to the realisation that eating low fat, low GI is almost always really difficult to maintain as a lifestyle.

I accept that I have always and will always have challenges with weight as the minute I eat too much and stop being active, I gain quickly. I understand that if you eat more than you use energy for, you will pick up weight. However, I have been searching for a way of eating that isn’t as restrictive and boring as traditional weight loss plans.

Then I came across LCHF (http://www.dietdoctor.com/lchf)  and the principles immediately made sense to us. This is one of many sites talking to the low carb, high fat principle – you can also search paleo diet or Swedish diet – it has been around for years. Also see Tim Noakes who is a huge supporter of this diet – http://www.health24.com/fitness/Diet_Supplements/16-481-512,73175.asp . So many people have had remarkable success with this eating lifestyle including many health benefits like improved blood pressure issues, weight loss, more energy, less lethargy, better sleep etc. And it is the first eating plan that doesn’t feel like a starvation diet to me, losing all the things we love to eat.  However it is going to take a mind shift as I have always believed that fat is BAD and carbs are GOOD…so it is going to be difficult at first to change how I feel about fat specifically!

So from 14 January, we are now LCHF eaters. And this shall be our diary, with updates on our progress, eating plans, meals had, recipes and whatever else I feel inspired to write about on this journey…

One thought on “Our LCHF journey begins…

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

