1.9kg!

can-a-wi-fi-enabled-bathroom-scale-help-you-lose-weight-review--90898cf2dd

So we weighed this morning. I have lost 1.9kg and DH 1.7kg.  My sister who has joined us as well has lost 2kg! Good going for week one 🙂

I still can’t get my head around the fact that I am eating FAT and losing weight! I have read the theory, my logical brain says it sounds right but I still can’t quite believe it.

Well, the proof is on the scale. So let’s keep going!

I have been making almond flour bread. Very easy and more like actual bread that Oopsie breads.  Admittedly, the nuts make it super high in fat, so maybe Oopsie breads are better in quantity. All you do is mix an egg with a pinch of salt, a cup of almond flour (crushed almonds) and a tablespoon of melted butter. Pour into a plate and microwave for 2 mins. It is quite chewy, but if you are lus for bread, this is the best alternative I have found so far.

I found some more interesting links to share…

So the first one discusses the issue about when losing weight slows down on LCHF and what to do – it talks to limiting high calorie foods like nuts and cheese to help weight loss – as on a low carb diet your fat cells are wide open to be used but if you are eating too much fat for energy output, your body will not burn its own reserves first….ahem…

http://www.proteinpower.com/drmike/weight-loss/low-carb-and-calories-2/

The second one is from a blog for a rather fab sounding chocolate cake using almond flour lol…which is exactly what the top one warns against…well anyway…just in case you need a treat after achieving your total weight loss…

http://me-and-lchf.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2010-03-29T23:12:00%2B01:00&max-results=7&m=0

The third one is the blog of one of the original LCHF / Swedish diet dr’s and her advice – good to read especially around the weigh loss issue…

http://blogg.passagen.se/dahlqvistannika/?anchor=my_lowcarb_dietary_programe_in

I haven’t been as hungry as I was last week, and I think we will try to start eating less when we are ready.  For now, I am still trying new recipes and testing the boundaries of this new way of eating.

Today we had full fat Greek yoghurt, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, sunflower seeds and walnuts for breakfast. Then almond bread with cheese and smoked chicken pieces as a snack and then a yummy salad with avo, peppers, bacon bits and artichokes. I have just had some biltong as a snack.

We are trying to drink 3 litres of water a day as well.

Activity at this point is doing laps in the pool every evening and the odd weekend walk – will need to up this I am sure in future…

Leave a Reply

