Tummy Bug and carbs

So thanks to a weekend long tummy bug, I lost 2.8kg! And DH 1.6kg. We also have a new scale – maybe it is being kinder to us?! I am sure I will put some of that back once I get over this tummy thing blargh.

On Saturday when I started to feel a bit odd, I thought it was the chorizo sausage in our breakfast scrambled eggs. I ate some of a steak salad for lunch and towards the evening started feeling really crappy. Literally. All I felt like was carbs! I made a baked custard with cream, eggs, vanilla and xylitol for supper – all I could stomach. Very nice btw – here is the recipe…yum with a little cinnamon sprinkled on top – like a milk tart!

Baked Custard

Cooking Time: 7-8 minutes
Temp: 50% power
Makes 1 serving

1/2 cup heavy cream
2 eggs
1 T Splenda or Xylitol and some Cinnamon

 
Beat eggs. Add Splenda/Xylitol. Stir in cream and mix well.
Sprinkle with cinnamon. Place in microwave and cook on 50% power for about 4 mins. Knife should come out clean when inserted near center of custard. Serve chilled or if you can’t wait eat warm like I did.

Calories:570
Fat:54 grams
Carbs:7
Fiber:0
Protein:15

Even though I didn’t vom at all and wasn’t feeling nauseas thank God, I was feeling really weak. On Sunday, I was feeling seriously iffy and couldn’t face food until I saw the babies eating their rice cake. It looked good, so I ate one. I then had a boiled egg. Then a banana. Then almond bread and a cup of chicken broth. Started feeling better towards the evening and ate two lamb chops and gem squash.

So I had a little carbs. But hey, just one rice cake and one banana. Given that the Dr usually suggests a BRAT diet – banana, rice, apples, toast for tummy bugs as these are the easiest on your digestive system, I just needed them.

Today, back on track but still a little grumbly, I have had Greek yoghurt, a couple of berries, a few walnuts and a little coconut.  For lunch I had two boiled eggs with mayo. 1/2 an avo. a couple slices ham. some olives and some slices of Brie. I have also had two cups of coffee with cream – but not going down so well.

For supper, I am making meatballs, tsatsiki, aubergine slices and salad.

I think I may need to weigh on Thursday just to check what is going on…

Leave a Reply

